Logitech c920 webcam @1920x1080

Post your SplitCam questions and bug reports here. PLEASE WRITE ONLY IN ENGLISH !
Post Reply
virk
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:43 pm

Logitech c920 webcam @1920x1080

Post by virk » Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:14 pm

I am using Logitech c920 webcam for Skype full HD video calls. Logitech c920 has built-in hardware H.264 encoder and thus it can produce Full HD 1920x1080 stream with Skype video calls. This works perfectly on my LAN with bitrate of about 5Mb/s. But when I connect the c920 through Splitcam the resolution is only 1280x720 despite that Splitcam is set to 1920x1080. In the Skype technical info I can see that the c920 hardware encoder is not switched on and the bitrate is about 2.5 Mb/s. Can this be solved somehow and full 1920x1080 video for Skype provided with Splitcam?

I am using Windows 10 64-bit Pro Creators update, I read that Microsoft changed video driver architecture and H.264 output is on different software pin or something like that. Hopefully c920 video at full HD can be implemented in Splitcam?

vicul
Forum Moderator
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:07 am

Re: Logitech c920 webcam @1920x1080

Post by vicul » Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:12 am

1. Splitcam does not support H264 on input, only RGB.

2. At the moment we don't have C920 in our lab.

3. But for RGB the resolution 1920x1080 is available for Splitcam. You can set it in Options by Resolution.
After it you can check that parameter if you set the option Show start info. Click by mouse on the Splitcam window,
Splitcam shows you input and output resolutions.

4. The output resolutions depend on the connected program (Skype, for your case) to Splitcam.
Only this program defines what resolution it will receive from Splitcam. Before start Splitcam offers Skype the following output resolutions:
g_NormRes.cx = 320; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 176;
g_NormRes.cx = 320; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 180;
g_NormRes.cx = 320; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 240;
g_NormRes.cx = 400; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 225;
g_NormRes.cx = 400; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 300;
g_NormRes.cx = 512; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 384;
g_NormRes.cx = 640; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 240;
g_NormRes.cx = 640; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 288;
g_NormRes.cx = 640; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 360;
g_NormRes.cx = 640; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 480;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 648; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 486;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 704; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 480;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 704; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 576;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 720; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 240;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 720; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 288;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 720; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 380;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 720; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 400;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 720; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 480;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 720; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 576;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 768; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 576;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 800; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 448;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 800; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 600;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 848; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 480;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 854; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 480;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 864; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 480;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 960; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 540;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 1024; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 768;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 1280; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 720;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 1280; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 960;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 1400; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 1050;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 1600; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 900;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 1600; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 1200;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 1920; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 1080;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 1920; g_NormRes[i++].cy = 1440;
g_NormRes[i].cx = 2048; g_NormRes[i].cy = 1536;

,
which Splitcam transforms for Skype from the input resolution, for your case, 1920x1080. Usually at the start Skype begins with 640x360. If your inet channel allows Skype to send video with that resolution, then Skype increases this resolution to the next one from that list.
For your case, you set the input resolution 1920x1080 and connect to Skype. Skype tests your channel and sets 1280x720 considering that it is enough for sending its frames.
Sorry, but so Splitcam works and I don't have any ideas how to force Skype to select another solution.
SplitCam Team

helene
User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:15 pm

Re: Logitech c920 webcam @1920x1080

Post by helene » Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:38 pm

quiero transmitir en mi webcam de split camera y7 ganar to0kens y dinero en mi targeta payoneer

vicul
Forum Moderator
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:07 am

Re: Logitech c920 webcam @1920x1080

Post by vicul » Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:36 am

Please, write by English.

For work with Splitcam you can use a local Help using the menu command: Help->View help

or our tutorial:

http://splitcamera.com/help_index.html
SplitCam Team

virk
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:43 pm

Re: Logitech c920 webcam @1920x1080

Post by virk » Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:13 pm

>3. But for RGB the resolution 1920x1080 is available for Splitcam. You can set it in Options by Resolution.
>After it you can check that parameter if you set the option Show start info. Click by mouse on the Splitcam window,
>Splitcam shows you input and output resolutions.

Yes I know this and I amd doing it. Despite such setting video send by Skype is 1280x720 only. Without Splitcam, video send by Skype is 1920x1080.

>1. Splitcam does not support H264 on input, only RGB.
>4. The output resolutions depend on the connected program (Skype, for your case) to Splitcam.
>Only this program defines what resolution it will receive from Splitcam. Before start Splitcam offers Skype the following output resolutions:

I am well aware about this. Splitcam is doing what is expected to be done when video is coming from typical webcams. But high-end webcams have, in addition to standard features, an ability to provide videos in compressed formats. In this case, Splitcam should be advertising to Skype that there is possibility for providing compressed streams, e.g. H.264. Then Splitcam would still be showing RGB frames on its own interface while at the same time it would facilitate transferring streams to Skype.

2. At the moment we don't have C920 in our lab.

I think the problem is relevant for all webcams with hardware encoders. Anyway, if you think this can be solved in Splitcam, are interested in providing solution, and can commit resources for this - How about if I would provide you with the c920?

vicul
Forum Moderator
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:07 am

Re: Logitech c920 webcam @1920x1080

Post by vicul » Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:31 am

I'm agree with you but add several notes.
setting video send by Skype is 1280x720 only.
Note you: 1280x720 is a choice of Skype, not Splitcam. Splitcam offers a wide list of resolutions, but Skype selected only that resolution. You can see how Skype chooses that solution in its statistics at the start.
in addition to standard features, an ability to provide videos in compressed formats.
Sorry, but I'm not agree with you here. Splitcam is not a simple player, for which the main task is receive/render of video. Splitcam is a multimedia tool handling each frame, for example, resizing. For it we must use uncompressed frames. By the way, don't forget, Splitcam makes it in real time.

But you are right, h264 must be there. Because the last cameras (for example, Logitech Brio Stream) don't have RGB on output, only h264.
How about if I would provide you with the c920?
Thanks, we'll glad to receive it from you. We are a small company with little budget and it's not always can buy hardware for our developings. For details, contact via our email - [email protected]
SplitCam Team

virk
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:43 pm

Re: Logitech c920 webcam @1920x1080

Post by virk » Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:38 pm

vicul wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:31 am
I'm agree with you but add several notes.
OK, thank you.
setting video send by Skype is 1280x720 only.
vicul wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:31 am
Note you: 1280x720 is a choice of Skype, not Splitcam. Splitcam offers a wide list of resolutions, but Skype selected only that resolution. You can see how Skype chooses that solution in its statistics at the start.
Yes, Skype selects resolution. What I suppose Skype is doing in this case is that while seeing the option for getting 1920x1080 video and not seeing that this resolution is available in compressed format even though the camera as such should be supporting it, it selects 1280x720. Otherwise I have no explanation for the behavior I am observing: in identical conditions c920 interfaced directly makes Skype sending 1920x1080 video, through Splitcamera the video is only 1280x720

in addition to standard features, an ability to provide videos in compressed formats.
vicul wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:31 am
Sorry, but I'm not agree with you here. Splitcam is not a simple player, for which the main task is receive/render of video. Splitcam is a multimedia tool handling each frame, for example, resizing. For it we must use uncompressed frames. By the way, don't forget, Splitcam makes it in real time.
But you are right, h264 must be there.

I think I fully understand the purpose of Splitcam and it is clear to me that it has to operate on uncompressed streams. Here there is something to say about the uncompressed-compressed opposition in the context of webcams operating via USB ports. Originally those webcams had low resolution and USB 2.0 port was OK to use. Then came high-definition formats and the USB 2.0 speed wast not enough to transfer raw frames. This forced to include compressed streams into the UVC specification and cameras like c920 came. Now situation is that the compressed and uncompressed formats are not opposed but integrated together via the extended UVC specs. Devices like Logitech c920 are multifunctional since they output uncompressed, lightly compressed MJPEG and tightly compressed H.264.

Where this points out for the development direction of Splitcamera? It clearly points towards provision of compressed streams by supporting full UVC. That means that apart of what is available today there would be option for compressed stream output when it is relevant. There is of course issue about realtime implementation which depends on capabilities of computers but I do not see it as a major problem nowadays.
vicul wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:31 am
Because the last cameras (for example, Logitech Brio Stream) don't have RGB on output, only h264.
/quote]

You are right on target here. In fact, I can tell you that I had in mind proposing extension of Splitcam towards 4K resolution support. I am using 32" 4K monitor, Brio and other cameras like Go are now 4K so things are moving in the direction of 4K. From the point of Brio, supporting low resolutions would not make any sense and thus it operates on compressed streams only. But the H.264 does not support 4K and Brio supports MJPEG frames stream for 4K while H.264 is used for HD as far as I know. MJPEG allows for relatively simple encoding and decoding of 4K frames but is problematic for networking since reportedly 4K Brio streams need about 30 Mb/s. It is the reason why I am not looking for getting Brio, I hope there will come camera with H.265 encoding. Such cameras are already available in China for surveillance applications.

To keep Splitcamera future-proof and on the leading edge of developments I believe support for compressed streams should be developed. The first step could be by looking how to include the c920 1920x1080 compressed stream as an input format to Skype. Then next step could be then encoding the 1920x1080 frames into H.264 for Skype.
How about if I would provide you with the c920?
Thanks, we'll glad to receive it from you. We are a small company with little budget and it's not always can buy hardware for our developings. For details, contact via our email - [email protected]
OK, I will contact your about the details.

vicul
Forum Moderator
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:07 am

Re: Logitech c920 webcam @1920x1080

Post by vicul » Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:16 am

I gave you the full answer on your question in my last posts.
SplitCam Team

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 13 guests