Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post your SplitCam questions and bug reports here. PLEASE WRITE ONLY IN ENGLISH !
eke
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 4:57 pm

Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by eke » Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:03 pm

hello,

When i'm connecting my sony HD camera splitcam crashes with the following error in the event viewer.

EventID:1000
Faulting application name: SplitCam.exe, version: 5.4.3.13, time stamp: 0x4dad970b
Faulting module name: SplitCam.exe, version: 5.4.3.13, time stamp: 0x4dad970b
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00171f92
Faulting process id: 0xfa4
Faulting application start time: 0x01cc6b2290abc662
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\SplitCam\SplitCam.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\SplitCam\SplitCam.exe
Report Id: cf29488a-d715-11e0-a1cf-001a929e6505

i'm Running at windows 7 x64 ultimate, when i disconnect the camera it starts up and connect to my tv card whitout crashing.

I hope you can fix this. if you need info please let me know.

Regards,

eke
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 4:57 pm

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by eke » Sun Sep 04, 2011 5:23 pm

hi,

I found the new beta version 5.4.3.30 and installed it, bit still I receive the same error:

Faulting application name: SplitCam.exe, version: 5.4.3.30, time stamp: 0x4e60a728
Faulting module name: SplitCam.exe, version: 5.4.3.30, time stamp: 0x4e60a728
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00194df2
Faulting process id: 0x12d8
Faulting application start time: 0x01cc6b2715d61094
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\SplitCam\SplitCam.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files (x86)\SplitCam\SplitCam.exe
Report Id: 59737242-d71a-11e0-a1cf-001a929e6505

also i found the following error:
Event ID: 1001
Fault bucket , type 0
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: SplitCam.exe
P2: 5.4.3.30
P3: 4e60a728
P4: SplitCam.exe
P5: 5.4.3.30
P6: 4e60a728
P7: c0000005
P8: 00194df2
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\Temp\WER36BA.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml

These files may be available here:
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_SplitCam.exe_1d31c58f557d322a3e05b6837ef3d28d95049_130357d1

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: 59737242-d71a-11e0-a1cf-001a929e6505
Report Status: 1

Regards,

eke
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 4:57 pm

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by eke » Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:27 pm

Hi,

I found the log file of today, maybe you can see something in it.

this are the contents of today:
==== [2011.09.04, 16:49:09.174 UTC] INFORMATION:

> CSplitCamApp::InitInstance() dwThreadId = 4956

==== [2011.09.04, 16:49:09.338 UTC] INFORMATION:

> window subclassed (HWND=0x00080432).

==== [2011.09.04, 16:49:09.896 UTC] INFORMATION:

> window subclassed (HWND=0x000504A4).

==== [2011.09.04, 16:49:09.938 UTC] INFORMATION:

> CDlgSplitCam::CreateAdWindow() dwThreadId = 3012

==== [2011.09.04, 16:49:09.938 UTC] INFORMATION:

> window subclassed (HWND=0x000F0488).

==== [2011.09.04, 16:49:09.938 UTC] INFORMATION:

> window subclassed (HWND=0x00080468).

==== [2011.09.04, 16:49:09.976 UTC] INFORMATION:

> CSplitCamUpdater::Init() dwThreadId = 2192

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:28.442 UTC] INFORMATION:

> CSplitCamApp::InitInstance() dwThreadId = 5268

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:28.592 UTC] INFORMATION:

> window subclassed (HWND=0x00080516).

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.170 UTC] INFORMATION:

> window subclassed (HWND=0x000F0732).

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.202 UTC] INFORMATION:

> CDlgSplitCam::CreateAdWindow() dwThreadId = 5904

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.202 UTC] INFORMATION:

> window subclassed (HWND=0x000A06B6).

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.203 UTC] INFORMATION:

> window subclassed (HWND=0x000C067C).

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.224 UTC] INFORMATION:

> CSplitCamUpdater::Init() dwThreadId = 5828

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.522 UTC] ERROR:

> Can not render capture device

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.587 UTC] ERROR:

> Can not render capture device

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.597 UTC] INFORMATION:

> SplitCam application starts

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.619 UTC] INFORMATION:

> generic window create started (HWND=0x0006067A).

==== [2011.09.04, 17:17:29.619 UTC] INFORMATION:

> generic window created succesfully (HWND=0x0006067A).

Regards,

User avatar
SPLITCAM SUPPORT
Site Admin
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 7:34 am
Contact:

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by SPLITCAM SUPPORT » Sun Sep 04, 2011 10:24 pm

What camera model do you use?


thanks

eke
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 4:57 pm

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by eke » Sun Sep 04, 2011 10:43 pm

hi,

The camera is a sony HDR-HC7E.

Regards,

User avatar
SPLITCAM SUPPORT
Site Admin
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 7:34 am
Contact:

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by SPLITCAM SUPPORT » Tue Sep 06, 2011 1:00 pm

Can you please also make a little test for us. Try to connect your camera in Skype, Gtalk and Youstream and tell me the results.
Thanks.

eke
User
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 4:57 pm

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by eke » Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:03 pm

Hi,

I installed skype and gtalk but skype doesn't even see the camera and gtalk only give a black screen. maybe it is usefull information it is connected using firewire.

Also I live messenger and that gives a error cannot connect to webcam.

Regards,

User avatar
Fortra
Profi User
Posts: 485
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by Fortra » Wed Sep 07, 2011 10:32 am

@ eke,

Currently splitcam doesn't have direct IEEE1394 (firewire) support connectivity. Regardless if the hardware say's it has a webcam mode feature on it. I know that there are a lot of users that want to use their high-spec camcorders as webcams.
@ USERS, NO BS - PLEASE USE ONE OF THE EXISTING APPROPRIATE TOPIC THREAD WHEN POSTING ANY OF
YOUR QUESTIONS ON HERE... BY USING THE BRIGHTLY
LIT AND NOTICEABLE (POST REPLY) GREEN BUTTON
FOLLOW ARROW DIRECTION BELOW.

<|==<<<

User avatar
Fortra
Profi User
Posts: 485
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by Fortra » Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:18 am

@ ALL DV CAMCORDER USERS!,

THIS POST IS JUST FOR YOU, JUST SO YOU KNOW AND UNDERSTAND, THE SIMPLEST AND BASIC DIFFERENCES, BETWEEN THE TWO CAM INTERFACE CONNECTIONS BETWEEN THE TWO, THAT SOME USERS WILL BE USING!

1. MOST USB WEBCAMS REQUIRE A SEPARATE DRIVER TO BE INSTALLED, AND SOME DON'T, BECAUSE WINDOWS WILL HAVE BUILT-IN, A BASIC NATIVE DRIVER FOR THEM ALREADY, EXAMPLE PLUG & PLAY DRIVER.

2. ON THE OTHER SIDE, IEEE194 FIREWIRE CONNECTED DV CAMERAS DON'T HAVE ONE. BECAUSE IT USES A DIFFERENT FASTER CONNECTIVITY INTERFACE "BUS DRIVER TECHNOLOGY" FIREWIRE PROTOCOL. I KNOW, AND UNDERSTAND THIS ALL TOO WELL. THAT ALL DV CAMERAS WILL HAVE A BETTER AND SUPERIOR OPTICAL LENS, AND VIDEO QUALITY TOO.

3. THE MAIN THING IS THAT THE SPLITCAM PROGRAM COMMUNICATES WITH THE USB WEBCAM DRIVER TECHNOLOGY FOR IT TO WORK WITH IT. ON THE OTHER SIDE. WE ARE LOOKING INTO FINDING A WAY SO THAT BOTH TECHNOLOGIES CAN BE USED, JUST HAVEN'T FOUND A SOLUTION FOR IT YET!

P.S - THIS IS THE REASON WHY I HAD MENTIONED IN ANOTHER THREAD ABOUT SOME NEWER PRODUCT LINE USB WEBCAMS THAT HAVE HD CAPABILITY.

I'M FULLY AWARE THEY WON'T BE SIGNIFICANTLY ANY BETTER THAN DV DEVICES IN VIDEO QUALITY.

HOWEVER, IF IT'S JUST FOR USE ON A SOCIAL MEDIA VIDEO CHAT SITES, THEN ITS NOT SO CRITICAL, JUST TO USE ONE OF THOSE LATEST NEWER HD USB WEBCAMS IN ANY CASE. THAT WAY YOU'LL AVOID THE ISSUE OF HIGHER CPU USAGE WHEN USING A DV!
@ USERS, NO BS - PLEASE USE ONE OF THE EXISTING APPROPRIATE TOPIC THREAD WHEN POSTING ANY OF
YOUR QUESTIONS ON HERE... BY USING THE BRIGHTLY
LIT AND NOTICEABLE (POST REPLY) GREEN BUTTON
FOLLOW ARROW DIRECTION BELOW.

<|==<<<

User avatar
Fortra
Profi User
Posts: 485
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by Fortra » Wed Mar 07, 2012 2:20 pm

I hope the above post helps you understand the reason why!
@ USERS, NO BS - PLEASE USE ONE OF THE EXISTING APPROPRIATE TOPIC THREAD WHEN POSTING ANY OF
YOUR QUESTIONS ON HERE... BY USING THE BRIGHTLY
LIT AND NOTICEABLE (POST REPLY) GREEN BUTTON
FOLLOW ARROW DIRECTION BELOW.

<|==<<<

Soniclight
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 6:13 am

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by Soniclight » Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:59 pm

Skype 6 & 5.10 - Will Not Recognize SplitCam Firewire Cam?

First some basic sys/setup specs:

System:
PC Win7 Premium 64-bit

SplitCam Versions Tried:

5.4.2.x? (removed so can't give exact version)
5.4.6.0
5.4.6.34 (Beta)
-- Usual Options/Resolution used: 640x360 16:9

HD Camcorder:
Canon Vixia HV30 (Mini-DV, tape-based, IEEE 1394 Firewire interface)
-- Have used camcorder's default 1080 HD and 4:3 & 16:9 SD resolution settings with SplitCam--only SD resolutions works (which is how I believe it's supposed to be?).

Skype Versions Tried:

6.2.60.x (Current version)
5..10.0,116 (to see if would see SplitCam after v.6 stopped doing so.)
____________________________

Indeed...
I'm well aware this is not a new topic
.

But I've read myself blind doing searches here and via Skype and other forums, articles for the last 2+ days, but after multiple uninstalls/re-installs of both Skype and SplitCam, I still get the "Skype can't find a webcam..." in Video Options in Skype even though SplitCam recognizes/shows my camcorder view.

However...

When I first installed Skype (6.2) fresh a couple of days ago I didn't realize I had an earlier version of SplitCam (5.4.x) that I had tried out a year or more ago and Skype did work with SplitCam for a short while even though the on-board HV30 audio/mike wasn't recognized* by either SplitCam or Skype. I did a test with a friend through Skype -- he could see but not hear me.

* I may or may not be able to work around this audio problem if necessary by using a separate mike through my M-Audio Audiophile audio card through a small Beringer mixer I have.

In terms of hopefully solving this with your guidance...

1. On a DIY techie level:

I'm no IT guy or programmer but I've built my last two PCs, I can do certain Registry tweaks, fish for and replace or move any required .dll and other files. In short, no IT wizard but not a total newbie either.

2. Why am I sticking with IEEE/Firewire?

Some sensible reactions may be "Why are you wasting your time making and albeit better-image IEEE interfaced camcorder be your webcam when you could just go out and buy one of the newer USB 2.0 HD/720p webcams--and voila, problem solved. You wouldn't even need to use SplitCam."

(NOTE: My nVida GT430 card has 2x DVI (for my two 24" monitors) and 1x Mini HDMI. Maybe I could use the latter since my camcorder has an HDMI port--though I'd have to get an adapter (cheap to buy) for the computer-end of it since it's regular HDMI. But this idea mat be a no-go for not sure how my system would handle a 3rd video input on the same card or how I would route it to SplitCam or Skype. If this is an option, let me know.)

Whatever the case, all the above currently hinges on the...

-- Fiduciary Factor --

I live on a fixed disability income and right now my wallet is tighter than usual due to more pressing life-stuff expenses incurred. USD $50 for such and expense may be pittance to most, but it's not for me.

-- Image/Options Control: I like SplitCam --

Having some videographer and (retired) graphic designer genes, I like to have control over saturation, contrast, brightness and find SplitCam to have the best one of the handful of other free and shareware I've tried (but uninstalled). The PiP is also more flexible than what I've seen in other progs.
________________

Alright, this is turning into a novella so time to put a sock in it. I just like to be detailed and upfront about what I can and cannot do.

Thank you for any assistance.

~ Philip Knight - USA

User avatar
Fortra
Profi User
Posts: 485
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:00 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by Fortra » Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:22 pm

@ Soniclight,

I have already posted about issues when using firewire devices, look above to a post that was posted last year!

However, since skype has alway's being updated from time to time, things have a habit of getting broken, which has a knock-on effect due to changes they've made to their software!
@ USERS, NO BS - PLEASE USE ONE OF THE EXISTING APPROPRIATE TOPIC THREAD WHEN POSTING ANY OF
YOUR QUESTIONS ON HERE... BY USING THE BRIGHTLY
LIT AND NOTICEABLE (POST REPLY) GREEN BUTTON
FOLLOW ARROW DIRECTION BELOW.

<|==<<<

canonmv300
User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:34 pm

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by canonmv300 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:54 pm

I have tried the Beta with the latest Skype version (Desktop and Metro App) on Windows 8 Pro 32bit. I am using a Canon DV Camera connected via 1394 Firewire to the PC. I get no audio at all - the audio source does not show up in SplitCam. I do get video but I have to select the source "Microsoft DV Camera and VCR". The splitcam_hdsource does not work for me - I get No Source.

I generally seem to have the same audio issues that were reported in this thread viewtopic.php?f=19&t=4236#p7891 and especially the later posts in this thread viewtopic.php?f=19&t=4215

I couldn't find any confirmation in the forum that this problem has been fixed i.e. camera microphone audio processed via 1394 Firewire connection. I have also tried the latest non-beta release and that doesn't work either.

I have been able to confirm that the functionality (i.e. live audio and video feed from camera to PC via 1394) works using Microsoft Movie Maker and the Live import feature.

Is this a feature that is supposed to work in this Beta release?

canonmv300
User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:34 pm

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by canonmv300 » Tue Jun 25, 2013 8:50 am

I see that my post has been moved.

@Splitcam Support,

Have you looked at this 1394 library http://sourceforge.net/projects/libdc13 ... =directory for 1394 audio support?

(Note I haven't looked through the documentation so I am not absolutely certain the library supports audio).

canonmv300
User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:34 pm

Re: Splitcam crashes when connecting to firewire HD camera

Post by canonmv300 » Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:25 pm

@SplitcamSupport,

I assume that you have already seen the Microsoft 1394 developer documentation but just in case you have missed it I have attached some links below.

My apologies if you are already familiar with this documentation or if you believe it's not relevant. My only interest here is to see if 1394 audio capture can also be supported in SplitCam (as video already works if using the Microsoft DV Camera and VCR driver).

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 85%29.aspx

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 85%29.aspx

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 85%29.aspx

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests